Blessed

Broken, I miss the broken you
when you couldn’t claim anything
as your own, but your brokenness.
I miss the broken you.

Poor; I miss you when
you didn’t pretend to have it all together,
but you admitted your poverty.
I miss you when you were poor,
when you knew you were in need of me.

Hungry; I miss you when you
were hungry for me, and more of me,
when you were hungry only for me.
But you got hungry for other things,
and you forgot of me.
I miss the hungry you for more of me.

Thirsty; there was a time when you were thirsty
and I would give you water
to spring into eternity.
Your thirst has turned for other things,
before long you forsake my spring.
I miss the thirsty you.

Pure in heart; I miss your heart when so pure was
when to my own was bound in love.
But now your heart holds other lovers dear,
and you forgot your love for me.
I miss your heart so pure.

Mourn; I miss when you were mourning
in time of early hours of prayer
for other souls and for your own,
but now you can’t see your wretchedness,
you do not mourn.
Now it is I who mourn.
I miss you when you were mourning.

Blessed; I miss you when you were blessed
the way I bless you,
when you saw my blessing in your poverty,
my blessing in your brokenness –
to see I make you whole,
my blessing in your purity –
having your heart tied to my own.
when mourning – to mourn with me,
in hunger for me – to know that I satisfy,
in thirst – to know that I quench it.
I miss you when you were all these things,
yet you were glad,
and you rejoiced in me.
SFR 07/06/11

Leave a Reply

